Week 5

Posted: June 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

Yay for this week! I feel like it was much more successful. 

The week was supposed to start on Tuesday with a phone interview at 10:00 from Jason Ley of Eve. But I did not receive a call so I called him at 10:30 am and left a message on his voicemail. He called me back a few hours later. He had been called off site and was out of the office. We set up another interview for Wednesday. I also tried to set up an interview with Dough Van HIll of Van Hill Furniture for a Christian businessmen story, but was unable to reach him. 

On Wednesday Tim and I met at Panera for our meeting from 9:00 am – 10:30 am. We did what we have been doing for the last couple of weeks. Later that afternoon  I had the interview with Jason. Afterwards, I tried to set up another interview with Tim Verink who owns a motor home dealership, but he was out of the office as well. I may just erase the Christian business leaders story. Later that evening I wrote a blog for Maranatha about their speakers Dave and Neta Jackson. 

On Thursday, I interviewed a few people. In the morning I talked with Jim Vessers of St. John’s about the playground build. I was hoping to talk with a representative from KaBOOM! as well (like I tried last week) but still have been unable. That is fine because I have enough information for the story. At 3:00 p.m. I had an interview with Rob Hughes who is in charge of the Leadership Summit for the Grand Rapids area. That was an interesting interview and I got a lot out of it. This interview only took an hour, but because the story is not due until July 10, I will probably have a follow up interview with him along with others. That afternoon I tried to contact my refugees again, and no luck. I am going to have to go at a different angle with the World Refugee Day and Arts Food Festival. 

On Friday morning I edited an early draft of Roadbed Ministries from a while ago. It was sent to the wrong person origianally so my editor never received it. After some tweaking it, I sent it in. After work that evening, I had an interview with Glenys, a past attendee of the Maranatha CHristian Writer’s Conference. I am putting together a promo story for the conference and want past attendee’s input. 

Saturday morning I met with Tim again at 9:00 am – 10:20 a.m. Same thing again. Afterwards, I wrote the KaBOOM! build day story as well as the Sundress Social story for the Eve. They are both in the editing phase right now. 

Leave a Reply

