Week 7

Posted: July 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

On Tuesday, June 25, I met with Tim at 8:00 a.m. and we headed to LaGrave which is a church downtown. They are a site for SERVE Missions. Tim and I are doing a large spread about this in West Michigan Christian News’s July print edition. I followed their youth group (called Barnabus) to different SERVE mission sites and observed and interviewed people.  Later that day I, once again, took another hour on the English tutorial which I will be finishing soon.

On Wednesday I edited basically everything from last week: blog and two stories. They needed a lot of work and are still in the editing process right now, too. I worked on them throughout the week, not just Wednesday.

Thursday I wrote a second story about the Maranatha Christian Writer’s Conference. It had to be a different angle than the first one I wrote because it is going to a second news outlet, The Rapidian. The Rapidian is also secular so I tried to tone down the “Christian” in the story. This was an interesting task because I had the same information as before but had to rewrite it into a completely new promo story. That is still in editing right now as well. At 5:00 p.m.  I had a meeting with Pastor Santese about the high school Leadership Summit. I am writing two summit stories: adult and high school.

On Friday I tried to contact some sources for future stories (Orange County Christian Writer’s Conference is one) and I set up some future meetings. Later that evening at 8:00 p.m.  I went back to LaGrave to take pictures of their final night which was a worship night. I unfortunately did not have a camera so I had to use a camera phone. It was also really awkward because I weaved in and out of people, crouched right by the stage, took photos of people at weird angles and basically right in their face as they were singing. I feel like they thought I was odd and intrusive (which photographers are sometimes).

Saturday at 6:00 p.m. I took some time to put together a documented list (sort of like a portfolio) for Tim which he asked me to do.

 

Leave a Reply

