Week 8

Posted: July 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

On Monday, July 2, I ALMOST finished the Grammar tutorial. I went through the readings and testes for about two hours. I also sent about an hour sending emails to conference attendees and focusing on social media. 

On Tuesday, I met with Tim at KCC at 2:00 p.m. We focused a lot on the SERVE and Barnabas stories and what we want to do with them. The ended at 4:30 p.m. Then afterwards for an hour I did some research about SERVE, which I did not get from earlier interviews. This whole spread is going to be a large piece in the next print edition of WMCN.

On Thursday, I again attempted to contact Orange County Christian Writer’s Conference. I need them for a blog I was hoping to do, and they have not replied to me since I contacted them a few weeks ago. This is the last shot for them. Overall, ten minutes this week. After that, I called Juan, owner of two Guatemalan stores in Grand Rapids to try to set up an interview. One of the stores is new, and I kind of wanted to do a story about the store and its audience within Grand Rapids. Unfortunately, the language was a barrier an issue, and I was not able to do the story. That was about a half an hour phone call. That night, I began writing two stories about SERVE and Barnabas (which will make a lot more sense once you read them). Tim is writing two stories and I am writing two. I did this for about three hours. 

Friday morning I took two hours and finished the grammar tutorial. I think that was an educational experience (definitely went through information, which I had not looked at since middle school). I also called Lauren from Barnabas with some follow up questions I had for about 45 minutes. I also worked on both of my Summit Leadership stories (and attempted to call some contacts, which did not work out) for a couple of hours.

Saturday evening, right before this, I put together all my stories from this portfolio thing Tim had me working on last week and put description and week into an excel document. This took about an hour (a lot of re-reading blog posts and emails to be correct).

This all should be 15 hours and 55 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

