Week 9

Posted: July 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

On Tuesday, July 10, I had an interview with an African family who just moved to the United States. This is an interesting feature piece. I met at their house and we just hung out in the living room answering questions and having casual conversation. This was from 10:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Afterwards, I met with Tim at Bigby coffee. That went from about 1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. Later that evening I had more questions for Lauren about Barnabas because the story was due this week. She has been super helpful.  It only took 15 minutes. I finished the Barnabas story that took about another hour and a half to write (since I started it last week).

On Wednesday, I went to Somersault for a day of shadowing which Tim set up for me. It is not exactly a publishing house. They are contracted out by publishing companies for various projects. I arrived at 9:00 a.m. and stayed until about 2:00 p.m. I talked afterwards with Dave Wright from Willow Creek about the Leadership Summit. I just needed some statistics from him and this interview took 30 minutes. Then I called Collette Johnson for the same story because she had an interesting experience at a past Summit and I wanted her input. This was about a 45 minute conversation.

Thursday was the day of a lot of writing. I finished both of the Summit stories. One was an overall about Summit while other one was about a high school Summit. In total, this took about 2 hours and 15 minutes. I really like the regular Summit story. I also finished the Serve story which took about 1 hour and 30 minutes to write.  That evening I also wrote about the African family for two hours.

Friday morning, I received the edits from Tim about those four stories (and about two stories for the Maranatha Conference, which I completed a while ago). It took me about an hour and a half to get all the corrections or find new information I needed. In addition, I researched a little bit more about other leadership conferences for the high school Summit because we needed more content in the story. Writing that and researching took about an hour in total. That afternoon I also wrote up a quick email for the Maranatha Conference to send to Alumni. This took about 15 minutes.

A few of the stories are still being edited (lots of work between Tim and I) but they will be done by the time for the portfolio. Because a couple of the stories are still in the editing process, it didn’t quite make deadline. Any work that I am doing with these right now will not count for my hours. It’ll just be for me and Tim, and I may just continue helping him or the Rapidian out for the rest of the summer because most of those writers do it for experience and not pay, anyway.

Overall, this week was 19 hours and 30 minutes. 

Leave a Reply

